Structural biology, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology are strong areas in Swedish research.
The Swedish Structural Biology Network (SBNet) and the Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and
Molecular Biology (SFBBM) have both arranged annual symposia for decades. Last year, a first
successful joint SBNet-SFBBM meeting was organized, and it was decided by the two communities to carry on
with a joint meeting with a format of the previous SBNet Tällberg meetings.

This annual meeting brings top international keynote speakers of broad interest to interact with the Swedish
community of group leaders, postdocs and PhD students. Through its format, the meeting plays a key role in
promoting the career development and networking of younger Swedish life scientists. The program
contains selected abstract presentations from PhD students, postdocs and assistant professors, and the
recipient of the 2017 Hugo Theorell prize in Biophysics will hold an award lecture. There are two evening
poster-sessions. This meeting is an important and established cornerstone activity within a vibrant community.
The venue of Tällberg and format of the conference create a dynamic symposium with emphasis on integrated
structural biology and broad molecular life science. During the past 20 years, the meeting has had 120-170
participants per year.

PhD students and postdocs that submit a poster abstract can register at reduced cost, allowing
many young scientists to attend the meeting several times to discuss their research and to
build their own networks in the Swedish and international communities. Prizes are awarded for the best oral and poster presentation.

Invited Speakers:

Alexey Amunts, Biochemistry and Biophysics, Stockholm University, Sweden

Tom Blundell, Biochemistry, Cambridge University, UK

Patricia Clark, Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Notre Dame, USA

Changjiang Dong, Norwich Medical School, University of East Anglia, UK

Janosh Hennig, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Germany

Eva Nogales, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Molecular and Cell Biology Department, University of
California, Berkeley; and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA

Cynthia Wolberger, Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University School of
Medicine, USA